Merry Christmas 2017

… to you, the readers of my photo blog, and your families, friends and beloved ones!

2017 was a great year for me, photography-wise. Even though I spend far too little effort on it, I was able to sell some few really big prints of my photos. I am very thankful as I feel that buying artwork is always an expression of very great appreciation.

Also in 2017, I finally said goodbye to my Sony A7 system – great, almost unsurpassed image quality, but (for my taste) far-less-than-stellar user interface and a lot of very good, but recently also very big and very heavy lenses. After using an Olympus PEN-F during this summer, I ended up buying a Fuji X-E3. Sadly, I recently had to send the Fuji in for a warranty repair as the internal buffer battery on my unit did not work properly. Nonetheless, I find it a beautiful, capable, nice little camera with (again, for my taste) a gorgeous user interface and a perfect lens lineup!

In addition, hey, this blog was featured on my #1 favourite rumor website in December – Fujirumors (click here). I hope you many new readers enjoyed your visit to my blog :)

Season's greetings from foggy Bad Ems, Germany!
Season’s greetings from foggy Bad Ems, Germany!

I hope that many of you also can look back at a great year, when it comes to your photography. The end of the year is always a great opportunity to look back at what you’ve done in the last 365 days. Maybe you’ve seen great exhibitions or got inspired by some new photographer that you learned about? Or you took a step further in your own photography. What did you achieve? Where would you like to improve? What’s your personal plans or goals for your photography in 2018? Always exciting to think about all this, learn from your experience and dream about the next steps!

I’m sure a lot of you also got some nice camera or photography related christmas presents? Enjoy them :)

Like I got this great 1960s Olympus Zuiko 100mm f/3.5 short telephoto lens for my beloved Pen FT camera, and an adapter ring to mount those FT lenses on Fujifilm digital bodies. So the pic below was taken with my other Pen FT lens, the 38mm f/1.8, on a Fujifilm X-E1 camera. Lighting on the camera body with the iPhone flashlight:

Olympus Pen FT with Zuiko 100/3.5.
Olympus Pen FT with Zuiko 100/3.5.

I already love the rendering of these Olympus lens classics!

And I’m really curious how well the look that these two lenses create will match with my modern Fujinon lenses – in fact, 38mm and 100mm are great additions to my Fujinons’ 23mm and 50mm focal length, and all these four lenses are very compact and easy to carry around. So I’d actually really like to use them all together as a nice prime lens setup …

Hope I’ll be able to show more pictures taken with the classic Pen FT Zuikos very soon!

Cheers,
Thomas

 

One thought on “Merry Christmas 2017

Add yours

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑