Good bye Sony A7 II, welcome Olympus PEN-F!

I switched to an Olympus PEN-F yes. Gone are (for now) the days of glorious Sony A7 II 35mm images with beautiful classic lenses, but why I hear you ask? Well there were two reasons and one of them I already wrote a lot about. The dreaded focus issue that forces Sony A7 series cameras to auto focus with a closed aperture. It is just a pain in the ass and I seriously believe it is the worst firmware decision that any camera maker did. Ever.

Read here why it is so crappy. And while I took it easy for some time, in the end it really became a major annoyance and spoiled the photographic experience. So I actually switched more and more to my Contax G lens with the Techart adapter. There as well, auto focus only works really well when the lens is open – but I could bear with that cause I knew I was using an old 1990s lens on a third party adapter and not a supposedly state-of-the-art 2017-ish Sony lens. Also it is so much easier to adjust the aperture on the dedicated lens ring than fiddling with the two wheels on the camera body.

Olympus PEN-F with Panasonic 45-150.
Olympus PEN-F with Panasonic 45-150.

In the end what happened is that the Techart adapter started to fail. The contacts on the rear that connect to those inside the camera lens mount looked seriously worn-out and this was maybe after 1/2 year of regular use. I never saw something like that happen on any other lens, not even on the most cheapish kit lenses in many, many years. I briefly looked if I could get a replacement adapter somewhere but only found an internet offering in the USA – apparently Techart themselves are concentrating on the production of Leica M mount adapters these days. So I figured that what I was enjoying so much – Contax G lenses on a Sony A7 body – might be not a long-term solution cause I might be go through 1-2 adapters a year with subpar finish and then in the end won’t be able to get a replacement at all some day.

This set of shots was made with the PEN-F and the Panasonic 45-150/4-5.6.

So that’s the story why I left Sony. Maybe I am coming back some day and just get a then-cheap A7R again with its gorgeous 36 MP sensor and just do with a manual focus adapter and Contax G glass again. As long as they don’t thoroughly fix their camera’s AF firmware, I won’t ever bother to go use the Sony AF again. What a pity!

I wanted another 35mm mirrorless camera but as we all know, there’s only the Leica SL and the Leica M10, both are sadly too dear for my budget. (And I don’t appreciate the size of the SL even though it’s an absolutely gorgeous camera in your hands.)

Here, I also included two shots with the Panasonic 20/1.7 pancake lens – top left and the posh boat. The rest was shot with the Panasonic 45-150/4-5.6 again.

So I went to have a look at the tiny, beautiful Olympus PEN-F and rather than bother too long, I just got one. Together with the mighty little Panasonic 20/1.7 and the also very small 45-150/4-5.6 lens, it’s a huge departure from where I stood with my Sony A7 and a selection of prime lenses but hey … I’m here to enjoy the stuff and so far it has been a lot of fun.

As a start, here are some shots I took with the PEN-F in Tilburg, the Netherlands. That beautiful, colorful and relaxing city in the south of Eindhoven that almost no foreigner knows about. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

