My Olympus E-M5 arrived ….

…. and it poses on my old Olympus E-System display:

Olympus E-M5 with Panasonic 20/1.7

Olympus E-M5 with Panasonic 20/1.7

Now if you followed my blog, you will know that I wanted to buy the Sony NEX-7 for quite some time. And so did some of my photo friends. But I went through a long time of consideration and finally, the E-M5 it was. So far, I am very happy with the decision. It definitely loses a bit in terms of sheer file quality in comparison to the Sony NEX-5N, yes – but let’s put it the other way ’round: It still does deliver beautiful image quality and plenty resolution for my needs. I am sure that 24×36 inch gallery prints will look great. Probably with some limitations if there is very fine foilage in the shots…. but time will tell, and anything short of a Nikon D800E won’t be much better than the E-M5 in that respect, anyway. The rest of the camera is simply gorgeous. I will go into more detail in the next time.

For now, here are just a few of my first shots. All were taken in RAW, all with the Panasonic 20/1.7, handheld…. most at open aperture and times at around 1/10 of a second. The images were developed with the nice and simple RAW Photo Processor before adding some finishing touches (such as saturation, contrast, distortion and shift correction) in good old Photoshop…. enjoy!

Bastei – a classic building by Cologne architect Wilhelm Riphahn

Bastei – a classic building by Cologne architect Wilhelm Riphahn

At the Cologne Dome.

At the Cologne Dome.

Under the bridge.

Under the bridge.

Boat and house.

Boat and house.

Plastic city life.

Plastic city life.

Entry to the Underground.

Entry to the Underground.

Cologne Dome and Musical Dome.

Cologne Dome and Musical Dome.

Leave a Reply

